top of page

Art Analysis

Hey guys! It's been a long time. Today I'm going to show you my art analysis about Aristide Bruant by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec.

We had to redraw a drawing by a famous artist during the art lesson and I was going to search about an easy drawing because I am not really good at drawing that kind of stuff so I had to find an easy one XD Anyways finally I found a drawing named '' Aristide Bruant '' by Lautrec. Besides I had to analyze it in terms of information, form, content and function.

1)-Information

Artist:Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (French, Albi 1864–1901 Saint-André-du-Bois)

Date:1893

Aristide Bruant was a successful singer, songwriter, and entrepreneur who ran a cabaret in the Montmartre quarter of Paris. When he began performing at up-scale café-concerts on the Champs-Élysées, he immediately commissioned Toulouse-Lautrec to market his rough street persona in a manner that would appeal to a bourgeois audience. Seizing on Bruant's trademark costume of a wide-brimmed hat, cape, and red scarf, Lautrec designed a sparse yet iconic image that promoted both the performer's career as well as his own.

2)-Form

Well there's not much to say about the form of this drawing but if I should explain it i would say that the artwork is realistic because it shows Aristide Bruants iconic image and it's a poster so it's two dimensional ( as seen in the picture XD)

3)-Content

It's about the famous look of the artist Aristide Bruant. The title of this picture refers to the person in this picture, namely Aristide Bruant, so it leaves nothing to the imagination :)

This picture was comissioned to Lautrec by Aristide Bruant himself. He wanted to market his persona. In this drawing there's no opinion or idea of Lautrec.

4)-Function

Of all the choises listed for function i would go for anectode. It is an illustration of the famous masculine look of Bruant. During his performances on stage he was dressed the same way he was dressed on this poster.

It was made for marketing purposes.

5)-Reaction

The first time i saw this art I liked the cool look of it. I was very impressed by the haughty and arrogant look. When I started to research the story behind this picture it confirmed my impression.

There is not much to say about this artwork but if i should give my opinion, I would say that it's a realistic drawing. I personally think that it has not a positive or negative side, it's a drawing of a famous cabaret artist. There is one thing that impacted me the most and that was the cool and haughty look of the person in the drawing, so that was the reason why i wanted to redraw this picture actually.

I hope you enjoyed my review of this artwork drawn by Lautrec.

bottom of page